Sunset Run

cam-sunset-by-fendlandsnapper1

photo by fendlandsnapper

Today I ran 8.5 miles from along the river. The weather was perfect and I saw a beautiful sunset on my way home. When I stopped to turn around and stretch I saw a small brush fire in a field. The fire was the same bright orange color of the sunset and it was wonderful to see the fire from the field blending in with the most brilliant fire of all, the fire from the sun. The sunset looked really similar to this one that I found on Flickr.

I also saw my favorite runner. I see this man running all the time! He’s probably in his mid 60’s and he runs at a really good clip. The reason that I notice him more that other runner is that he dresses in running shorts, button down shirt, tie, scarf, hand knit hat, black running shoes, and tall white socks. Just like this:

img_05071

Seriously, I want to be able to run 8 miles like he does when I’m in my mid 60’s.

Actually, what I really want to do is to run marathons when I’m 81 years old. Just like Joy Johnson. When she turned 80, her marathon time crept to 7 hrs and she knew that she wanted to be faster. She said that she, “made myself work a little harder.” That’s what I want to be doing now and when I’m 81–working a little harder.

Leave a Reply

